h1

WPF Findings

July 28, 2008

Here at work I am currently on my first commercial WPF project. Some of the things that I have learnt about wpf (the hard way)

* There is no Paging or Sorting support in the gridview (unbelievable isn’t it?)

* There are no validators!

* The WPF Binding Engine uses reflection when binding against Dependency Properties and as such your properties need to be public. If not, you will get a silent exception in the output screen

* When binding to a dropdown list ComboBox you cannot bind against a nullable int. Why? I have no idea, but you will find that the selected index changed event will not fire

* There is no Gif Animation Support in the Image control. (expected to be supported in next release of wpf)

I have quite a few more points but they were the top few that I could think of that were easy to list out.

Overall I am loving what WPF has to offer and it is quite a different thinking approach as to web development. Although I must admit I feel a bit home sick (asp.net)

Leave a Reply

